2 auctions – 1 weekend

I went to 2 auctions this weekend. The first was a rural country auction held in a dusty open aired barn. The second was at my local auction house here in town. Although the two auctions had their differences, overall the auction process and what to expect is the same. The barn auction had a great ambiance. It was a perfect 72 degree sunny day. The barn was open on both ends with a nice breeze coming through. The barn was filled with mostly men; older men with jean overalls on (absolutely adorable!). My 2 little boys were there and had the freedom to run around a bit and not feel confined to a small room or a seat. I love these kinds of auctions. They are very laid back and they give me warm feelings of the “good old days”. I bought an old wooden lamp to sell online and lost bids on two outdoor heaters for our patio and patio furniture set (can’t win them all!). The auction was more of a man’s auction, as my friend put it. There were lots of guns, tools, army blankets, camping supplies, and a few diesel trucks. But even at a country auction such as that there is something for everyone. In one box we found some amazing old Polaroid cameras. There were a few great antique furniture items as well as well kept vintage toys and linens.

            At my local auction house yesterday I took a friend and we spent the good part of the day watching white wicker piece after white wicker piece get auctioned. I did not realize so many things could be made out of wicker! There was even an interesting white wicker rocking horse with no ears- he was my favorite. Besides the wicker, the auction had some amazing one-of-a-kind antique furniture. I would have loved to have had the massive 8 foot by 8 foot old pharmacy wooden case that someone bought for $800. There were many great paintings, outdoor furniture sets, couches, dolls, books, and fishing items. At the end of the day I paid $20 for 5 boxes of weird, interesting things. I really wanted the crepe griddle which was in one of the boxes but since it was the end of the auction day, that box was lumped into a “lot” with 4 other boxes. I brought my treasures home and today I will make my way through them dividing them into piles to sell, keep, or give to the Goodwill. If I can sell enough to cover my $20 I will be happy that I got a crepe griddle for free!

Most of all in looking back on the past 2 days, I am glad that I was able to take time from my hectic weekly schedule to get out and meet new people and savor the laid back auction culture. Too often these days we just don’t interact with strangers. We keep ourselves in our work bubble or our family or church bubble. We don’t put ourselves out there to introduce ourselves to someone new or take some time to listen to another’s story. I have been guilty of this. It is so easy for me to go through a week with my kids, go to the gym, buy groceries, or play at the park without ever slowing down to start up a conversation with someone or give a generous and thoughtful smile and hello. This weekend, and other weekends that I am at an auction I am able to do just that. There is time to turn to the person next to you and strike up a conversation about their great purchases that day or to help an elderly lady carry her box of treasures out to her car. So I encourage each of you to not only go to auctions to find amazing deals or try to make extra income, but treat it as an excellent opportunity to meet new and interesting people and listen to a story or two. I wouldn’t trade that time for the world.

 

 

Leave a Reply

